When starting out marketing and sales, how should you do it effectively?

Duc Hau Business Insight
8 min readMay 21, 2020

If you are interested in marketing and selling on the internet today, this article is for you.

My answer is: Start small and pay attention to every small step of your work.

Start small and attention to detail of jobs

I know you don’t know me yet. So this article is just about sharing personal experience. I have no intention of telling you you have to act like me to be effective.

Because you will learn how to start small and pay attention to every detail of the job.

I know you probably already know this saying. But to illustrate, I will tell you the story I have realized.

Then apply the sayings to build a successful career as an online marketer.

I went through many weary days until I succeeded by contemplating and applying it to my life.

In the past, you could have had big dreams like me. Become a billionaire, a millionaire to have a dream life.

And so I imitated many different business models.

Follow the success of others in the newspaper. And posts on social networks. I believe that: Do it big, always think big to reach higher and farther.

It is also not bad when you come from low-income families to children. Always have to do low-paying jobs until you can do high-paying jobs like now.

I dream as much as in the two stories in this article: The simple way to succeed: Start small, paying attention to every little detail of each job.

Now,

You can read the first story.

  1. The first story about start small

One is that of a blogger specializing in making money with bloggers in Vietnam that I have known him for three years.

Why am I introducing his story? Because he failed and lost a lot of money. To learn this lesson. A married person who loses hundreds of thousands of US dollars is a huge number in Vietnam. And my story takes a lot of time and part of my youth. But that is hard to measure. So please read this story with specific evidence always.

His name is Nguyen Anh Ngoc, owner of the blog: ngocdenroi.com.

Specialize in sharing about how to make money online with blogs and affiliate marketing for readers in Vietnam. Thanks to this blog and another blog about e-money, he had financial independence, bought a house and let his children go to private school.

Also helping more than 5000 others are his readers to learn how to make money online with affiliate marketing blogs.

A successful life that many people dream about is not you.

However, if you know the story behind that he shared recently on his personal Facebook, you can see clearly that he has experienced many failures just because he did not learn the lesson above.

Note: this is the lesson I learned through his sharing. But in the article, he did not mention this lesson. The original article mainly talks about the benefits of reading. However, I learned the lesson in another aspect.

Do not misunderstand. I do not intend to distort or lie to anyone. Because these are my feelings. Maybe you, like me, have learned lessons from many people, many situations but now there is an example for me to absorb and remember it so I can share it with you.

The Black story is here.

In 2013, Ngoc was a salaryman who read the book: “Billionaire selling shoes: ‘’ by the founder of the world’s largest online shoe company Zappos, Tony Hsieh, which Amazon bought later for $ 1.2 billion. Even if you don’t read books like me, you know economic reporters have covered this famous story. Tell it again and again, how many times.

Strong influence from the book he thinks day and night and decides to start a business with e-commerce industry.

That day he had a very bold decision. It was to persuade the wife to agree to let him sell the house in Saigon Ho Chi Minh City.

Get a few billion dongs, along with a few hundred million of my sister’s loan.

He rushed to work on several sales projects through the e-commerce website.

Failure and then continue.

Still failed.

Original

I bought and read this book “Billionaire selling shoes” in 2013 when it was first printed in Vietnam (now it is reprinted many times already). At the time of 2013, it is true that the online sales house, the person who started the online business and this “miserable” book tells the story of Tonny Hsieh who founded the online shoe selling model at the website. Amazon bought Zappos .com and later in 2009 for $ 1.2 billion.

After reading this book, the spirit of an online startup is kept in my mind, and after a day of persuading me to flatter my wife SELLING HOUSE, SUCCESSFUL I invest a little more to start an online business. with a series of websites such as Price of Small Website then Flochoco .com …

Of course, finally, the small house of the husband and wife did not come back, the amount of money my sister supported did not fly but only flew for a BOOK!

So he had to return to work as a hired labourer to pay off the debt.

He analyzed his failure to not control his emotions. Only read the book and followed it, not studying the market at all. In other words, do not read soberly.

. As for me, he had to risk that he had not calculated it carefully. Play loudly; at that time, the trend of e-commerce is strong in Vietnam. Costs of SEO, google ads are very cheap.
Save a lot of costs due to not having to store goods.
But he played loudly when he failed, the massive loss. Because of the large scale, he could not control the quality. There are many other things that you can’t control.
If he started small, focused on quality and every component of the job, he might have succeeded. And if he fails, he will get up.

After withdrawing experience, he returned to the profession to make money online. He called MMO. Specifically, making money with blogs since 2014.
The field he chooses is to help others make money from blogs, and the model helps him achieve first success as affiliate marketing than Google Adsense (making money with Youtube) and selling digital products like ebooks, courses help others make money from Affiliate marketing, blogs as he did.
With the strength of SEO and writing passion. This time he only costs money to buy hosting, domain names. The primary tool is the broken laptop corner.
In just two months he earned the first $ 80 from Affiliate marketing for companies that offer hosting, domain names.
After that, income increased a lot thanks to attracting many customers.
In 2017–2018, the trend of emerging electronic money is expected. Mr Ngoc writes another blog about electronic money and again earns some big BTC from being affiliate marketing for virtual currency exchanges.
Thanks to this amount also the right investment he has achieved one sure success that I mentioned at the beginning of the article.,
Of course, he also has to read books like crazy to find out how to make and implement marketing and sales for his blog,

2. The second story about starting small and do not imitate others

Being a reader on his blog has been a long time. I am also happy for him to reflect on his story.
I was a young man born in 1990. And he was born in 1987.

My generation is a generation that exposed to many success stories. Especially billionaires, millionaires they step up to glory through big play like Donald Trump.

My friends and I have also started such great chores. But in imagination. Because my home is a basic family. It means that it is just a person who works as a hired labourer, works in the countryside to have food for life.

Yet I was infected with too many thoughts of playing big while the ability to endure and resist the shocks of failure was poor. Partly because I’m not trained in independent thinking.

So we are afraid to take responsibility. I was always in the victim’s mind: I was just an executor. Not my fault to take a little bit of burden

So even if I go to work, I always follow the ideas of my boss and colleagues. I want to start a business, want to step up to glory,

Wanting to increase their income to escape the shocking situation, they must take responsibility for their failure.
I again neglected people talking about me when I lost. So do it only in imagination.

My mood kept being torn like that until I read Mr Ngoc’s article what he didn’t say clearly about how he stood up after failing. However, I firmly believe that he is the one responsible for his decision.

From there, he decided to rebuild his life. And get support from my wife and children, and my sister let him borrow money.

He is overcoming obstacles, suspicion of making money through blogs. He continues to work to achieve success today, and He focuses on a single topic. As for me, I participated in many areas and still failed.

For me, when typing google search on ways to make money online. Then a note at the end of the article caught my attention: ‘Start small, focus on product quality and every single detail of your work. “In a blog, I don’t remember the name.

I have read two books before about starting small. It is starting with $ 100 by author Chris Guillebeau and 7 Startups of Dan Norris.

Then there was an introduction to the book: Starting a lean career. Yet I still haven’t realized these first lessons. Just come when reading those words. As if awakening.

And then I realized that I had been on the wrong road for a long time without realizing it. I just need to start small with the job I’m good at.

It’s alright to change jobs forever. It is a bad idea to imitate the success of others.
At that time, you were just enjoying the feeling of making thousands of dollars a month. But when you start working, you can’t accept the journey to achieve it so hard.

It turned out that work was only that, but I kept looking for successful recipes somewhere far away.
So I wrote this first post.
First is to train, train for yourself. Always remember and act on this statement. Also share with others, freelancers, owners startup about your path and the experience you have experienced.

Of course, this is only applicable when you have found the job you are strong at. And love it, the better.
As I found work as a making Google ad and copywriter for business in industrial furniture and home good

To help business owners achieve their goals.

If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking for it. The most important thing is that you need to take the time to study, think and act, not to mimic the patterns of success that I used to. I know this advice is not useful.

Because you may not believe me, your situation is different from mine.
Alright
. You need more experience. Do more

But let’s not talk about this anymore. Go back to my story.
From now on, I will share many stories like this more.
Do you agree?. If yes, you can comment, yes. Ask me questions.

I want to receive feedback from you, not the virtual interaction to top on your wall. Let us go together to achieve success.
Thank you for reading this long article.

I have published this article on my blog here.
With the same answer, you see at the beginning of the article on medium.

--

--

Duc Hau Business Insight

Advertising, Expert 5+ years of experience helping businesses & marketers: Increase advertising effectiveness to sell product like furniture